The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

WWE WrestleMania 33 Predictions

WrestleMania.jpg

WrestleMania 33, “The Ultimate Thrill Ride”, takes place at the Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida, the same venue that hosted WrestleMania 24. This is going to be a long night. 13 matches (two on the pre-show and eleven on the main show). That’s far too many.

As you recall, I was there in the crowd at WrestleMania 32 in Dallas and it was the greatest experience of my life. So you can imagine how different it’s going to be for me to watch this show from the comfort of my own home and not at the stadium. I’m sure I’ll still enjoy this show regardless, despite the envy I have towards my friend who is there in Orlando.

 

 

Pre-Show

WWE Cruiserweight Championship

Neville © vs. Austin Aries

This should have been on the main show, but I get why it’s on the pre-show as a way of firing up the crowd. Neville is fantastic as a heel. I must admit, I didn’t believe he would have been able to pull it off, but he has done with flying colours. As much as I like Aries, I can’t see a title change taking place tonight. Give Neville a lengthy run, he deserves it.

Winner and STILL WWE Cruiserweight Champion: Neville

 

Pre-Show

Andre the Giant Memorial Battle Royal

Listen, I think it’s great how WWE have come up with a concept to honour one of biggest legends in the business, but this Battle Royal just doesn’t do anything for anyone other than giving lower card guys a chance to appear at WrestleMania.

The three key men in this match are Braun Strowman, Big Show, and Sami Zayn.

Strowman and Show will eliminate a lot of the participants. They’ll have a big showdown in the ring with Strowman dumping Show out. As for Zayn, he should do a good job of coming close to winning, skimming the cat, and perhaps teasing an elimination of Strowman and in the end he’ll fail because this is about putting Strowman.

Winner: Braun Strowman

 

WWE Raw Tag Team Championship

Ladder Match

Karl Anderson & Luke Gallows © vs. Enzo & Cass vs. Sheamus & Cesaro

Not going to lie, this is a strange match to have a Ladder Match stipulation added to it. I know Cesaro will bring the heat, Sheamus is a solid performer, Gallows and Anderson are great workers, and Cass and Enzo can be an entertaining twosome, but none of them screams Ladder Match stand out to me. Maybe they can prove me wrong. It’s possible. I’ve been proven wrong before in the past.

This should be Enzo and Cass’ WrestleMania moment. They never were NXT Tag champions, came close a couple of times but always the bridesmaid and never the bride. This will put them over huge. It’s the easy way to go.

Winners and NEW WWE Raw Tag Team Champions: Enzo & Cass.

 

WWE Smackdown Women’s Championship

Alexa Bliss © vs. Becky Lynch vs. Naomi vs. Carmella vs. Natalya vs. Mickie James

The fans have spoken in full volume and this match will take pride of place on the main show. Rightfully so, too, because the Smackdown Women’s roster has been on fire! For the “women’s revolution” to mean something, this needed to be on the main show. People don’t remember Kickoff Show matches after all. I think the result will either be Naomi winning or Alexa getting a cheap victory. I’m siding more with Naomi because she had to forfeit the title via injury, plus it’s in her hometown of Orlando. (Also looking forward to seeing her entrance, too)

Winner and NEW WWE Smackdown Women’s Champion: Naomi

 

WWE Intercontinental Championship

Dean Ambrose © vs. Baron Corbin

A year ago since winning the Andre the Giant Battle Royal, Baron Corbin is competing in another high-profile match involving the Intercontinental title. I’ve never been shy about sharing my thoughts on Corbin, but I’ll be the first to admit that he’s come leaps and bounds since his NXT days and making me change my view on the guy. He’s on his way to becoming a main event level performer. To get there, he should go over some upper mid card faces, so that’s where Ambrose fits in. Ambrose has credibility as a former WWE Champion and the current IC Champion. The announcers will put over how big of a win this is for Corbin. I don’t think it’s a lock that Corbin is going to win, but it would be a surprise if Ambrose held onto the gold.

Winner and NEW WWE Intercontinental Champion: Baron Corbin

 

WWE United States Championship

Chris Jericho © vs. Kevin Owens

Agh, that heart-breaking moment when Chris Jericho was handed the ‘List of KO’. I must admit that I shed a few tears over that. Also shed tears over when Owens lost the title to that young, upstart Bill Goldberg at Fastlane. This, in my eyes, is the true Universal Championship match.

Owens winning this match and the title makes a lot of sense. He’s the younger guy, Jericho’s going away for music commitments soon and logically speaking it’s the right call. It appears that there will be a lot of title changes tonight so they may want to hold off for the title to change tomorrow night on Raw.

The build has been great. The fans will be well into this. My expectations are high, this could be the match of the night. (unless the two young guns Bill Goldberg and Brock Lesnar pull something out of the bag)

Winner and NEW WWE United States Champion: Kevin Owens

 

WWE Raw Women’s Championship

Bayley © vs. Sasha Banks vs. Charlotte vs. Nia Jax

Anyone that knows anything about wrestling, knows that Bayley beating Charlotte at Fast Lane made less than zero sense and absolutely took the appeal out of this match. Imagine if Bayley was still fighting for her first title and Charlotte still had her PPV undefeated streak, but is having to put up everything against not just one or two opponents, but three? And one of those three is Nia Jax. The stakes are high for the champion to retain her title.

The elimination match concept is the right way to go with this. It means the winner has to get through three others in order to have their hand raised instead of one fall for the finish. There are so many different possibilities to go down in this one. It could be Banks and Bayley at the end with Bayley proving she’s better by beating her. Maybe have Banks eliminated early on after a miscommunication between her and Bayley, which will see Bayley having to fight both Charlotte and Nia. It wouldn’t shock me if Jax is the one at the end with Bayley. Charlotte could make it to the end, but if it’s up to me I’d eliminate her earlier because the other three women could use a boost and Charlotte has been heavily involved in the Raw Women’s division since her debut. I’m going with Bayley retaining the title. The Sasha Banks heel turn will take place the next night on Raw and she’ll be the one to take the title away from her.

Winner and STILL WWE Raw Women’s Champion: Bayley

 

Shane McMahon vs. AJ Styles

This is an easy match to predict. Styles is the full-timer and Shane is a part timer who doesn’t have a problem with putting people over.

I wish AJ had a more high profile match, maybe have him involved in the WWE title match, but I’m not going to lose sleep over it. I expect AJ to get the absolute best out of the fans favourite McMahon, and I’m interested to see what they have up their sleeve for this one because there’s got to be something planned. This match could very well be similar to 2001’s Shane McMahon vs. Kurt Angle.

Winner: AJ Styles

 

The Miz & Maryse vs. John Cena & Nikki Bella

I didn’t realise Maryse could get any hotter, but brunette Maryse is fantastic. Just saying.

I loved the build to this match. It doesn’t sound much on paper, but these guys have pulled it off. The way Cena fired back on Miz & Maryse this past week on Smackdown was incredible. One of the best promos Cena’s ever done. That’s because it felt like it was John ripping on these people as individuals. It’s all done in character, but it felt legit. We need more promos like that. They’ve won me over with the promos. Never imagined that I would be praising Nikki Bella for her promo ability!

John and Nikki will win with Nikki getting the win over Maryse.

Big rumours that John will propose to Nikki after the match. I believe that will happen. What a WrestleMania moment that would be!

Winners: John Cena & Nikki Bella

 

Seth Rollins vs. Triple H

Seth finally spoke about wanting to get his own back on Triple H, which I’d been calling for since last year. He didn’t really go as in depth as I’d wanted him to, specifically mentioning his betrayal of who he is and of his family, The Shield, for promises of Championships and riches. With that said, it was his best promo since becoming a babyface.

It’s sad knowing that Rollins is coming into this match with an injury because if he was healthy I think they would have had an outstanding match. Remember Triple H vs. Dean Ambrose at Roadblock 2016, which was prior to WrestleMania? Outstanding match because it got over 20 minutes. I have doubts that they will go over 20 minutes with Rollins not being at 100%. I think interference from Samoa Joe is possible whiles somebody like Mick Foley, Sami Zayn or a returning Finn Balor can get involved to even the odds. That should allow Rollins to get the win, which he should since he’s the younger guy and the full-timer.

Winner: Seth Rollins

 

WWE Universal Championship

Goldberg © vs. Brock Lesnar

Short match – Brock wins – Goldberg retires – Goldberg to be inducted into next years’ Hall of Fame. (I guess it’s obvious that I really don’t care for this match)

Winner and NEW WWE Universal Champion: Brock Lesnar

 

WWE World Championship

Bray Wyatt © vs. Randy Orton

Randy Orton as the number one contender and a potential WWE Champion doesn’t excite me, but I’ll admit that the build with him infiltrating the Wyatt Family and burning down the house has been as good as anything WWE has done lately.

I do feel that this is going to be an outstanding match. They have been kept apart for weeks now, so when they do get in the ring it will like a fresh matchup and that’s something we haven’t had in a long time. My feeling is that Wyatt should retain the title because he only won at Elimination Chamber in early February. Why take it off him so soon? He’s a first-time heel champion with a strong personality that knows how to draw a response from the crowd. Wyatt can be a long term WWE Champion. Orton is fine without a title. It’s okay to have him chase for a few months as well. No need to give him a title.

I also reckon that Bray will win in a cheap fashion. Maybe Luke Harper could align himself with Wyatt again, or even a returning Erick Rowan. Sounds realistic to me.

Winner and STILL WWE Champion: Bray Wyatt

 

Roman Reigns vs. The Undertaker

The most hated man in all of Orlando is going to be the man WWE wishes you would love the most.

The crowds have been on fire for Undertaker, maybe a lot of them realising this could be the last time they ever see him in a ring. Taker’s health is clearly a concern and so I can’t see this being an overly long match, which to me would lend towards a Reigns win.

I do believe that Undertaker will lose. With all due respect, he’s a 52-year-old man who is in desperate need for a hip replacement. He’s here to put over the younger guy. Reigns is 20 years younger, he has many more WrestleMania main events ahead of him and if he beats Undertaker here it would help him a lot. Rumours are going around that Reigns will turn heel. I reckon that is possible. There could be a moment in the match where the ref gets knocked out, and Reigns uses this as an opportunity to use a chair or cheat to win.

I also believe that this will be Undertaker’s final ever match. It was noted on JBL on “Bring it to the Table” on WWE Network on Thursday that he’s going to call the match with Michael Cole. I assume that was done because Undertaker is close with Bradshaw and he may want his friend to be there to call this match. Also the reports leaking out that this is the probable main event, which also makes me believe that this night will mark the retirement of The Undertaker.

Reigns wins and if he doesn’t I’ll be very surprised. If he turns heel at the end of it, that would be the best thing they can do.

Winner: Roman Reigns

 

Feel free to post your predictions in the comment section below, and I’ll be back on Monday with my review of WrestleMania 33.

 

Cheers

 

RIF

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 2, 2017 by in Pay Per View Predictions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
