The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

The Greatest Experience of My Life

12973328_10154762873893626_505446442968219430_o.jpg

What were you guys doing on March 30th, 2016?

Can you even remember what day that date fell upon?

Can you even remember what you even did on that day, or even where you were?

 

Well, I can remember it as if it was yesterday.

 

On Wednesday, March 30th, 2016, I remember being on a transatlantic flight from Amsterdam, Holland to Houston, Texas, followed with a connecting flight to Dallas, Texas.

 

A 13-hour flight from one side of the world to the other. Would have been less than that had it not been for a storm in Dallas.

 

Why am I telling you this? Because not only was I travelling to the United States for the first time ever, but I was going to Dallas, Texas to fulfil a lifelong dream…………..attend WrestleMania!!!

 

Looking back, I can honestly say that the whole experience went above and beyond my expectations. It was everything I ever wanted and a whole lot more.

 

WrestleMania aside, I always, always, always wanted to visit America. As a kid, America sounds like the greatest country on Earth. It’s everywhere in movies, televisions, video games, everywhere. I always remember getting a second wind after almost 13 hours in on the plane, and just being full of this childlike excitement.

 

The taxi ride to the hotel was another experience. My excitement levels just grew. I was like “Oh my God, there’s Walmart…..there’s Wendy’s……there’s Target…….there’s Taco Bell….there’s the American Airline Centre.” The Taxi Driver must have thought I was nuts! My Brother and I made it to the hotel (Crowne Plaza on Elm Street in Downtown Dallas) at 11:40 pm, and went straight to bed. I woke up at 2:35 am and didn’t go back to sleep. A combination of jet lag and excitement!

 

I spent six days in Dallas. Within those six days I did the following:

 

Thursday: WWE Axxess

Friday: WWE Axxess, NXT Takeover: Dallas (I’m forever proud that I was in attendance for the 2016 match of the year – Sami Zayn vs. Shinsuke Nakamura)

Saturday: Wrestlecon, WWE Hall of Fame

Sunday: WRESTLEMANIA

Monday: Monday Night Raw

Tuesday: Return to Holland

 

It boggles my mind of what I experienced in such a small timeframe. It’s an experience that will live with me until the day I die, and it’s an experience which can never be topped. When you hear WWE saying that ‘WrestleMania has taken over Dallas’, or whatever city they are in, it’s true. Everywhere I went there were wrestling fans everywhere. Every bar we went in, every restaurant we went it, every 7-11 we went in, every street, everywhere. Wow, it blows my mind. I’ve never experienced anything like it before.

 

All in all, the whole experience really brought home the point about living in the here and now. Life IS for living. Do what it is in life that makes you happy. You don’t get a second chance at life so make it a good one.

 

Will I ever do WrestleMania again?

.

.

.

.

.

Watch this space……..

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 30, 2017 by in RIF's Life Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
