The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Thank You

IMG_3239.JPG

How’s it going, guys?

I have some very positive news that I’d like to share with you guys because you made this happen. Without you, this would never have happened.  I just want to write this quick blog to simply say thank you to you all. I’m thanking you because we have officially broken the record for website views here on The Rif Files.

 

I’m completely speechless.

 

Last year set the bar high at 5,012. I never believed that I would even get anywhere near that total again. This time last month I was on 4,260, so you can understand why I’m overjoyed by this. It’s really humbling when people take the time to read my work. Even when I get a nice e-mail or just a simple comment like “great blog” is just as flattering. All of that is a huge compliment to me. I’m nothing without you guys.

 

I always felt that this year has been a year where I’ve neglected my site. I haven’t written as many blogs as I would have liked and I apologize for that. One of the reasons behind that is that I’ve been working on a special blog that will be posted on my 30th Birthday (November 20th) where I’ll be talking about my life over the past 30 years. That may not matter now that we’ve broken the all-time viewing record but I still want to bring it up.

 

I first dipped my toe into blogging around 2011ish. My earliest blogs were posted on Facebook. I wrote the odd blog from time to time but nothing too serious. I would go months before posting my next blog. I’ve been re-reading them again the other day and they were terrible! At least I’ve improved since then, right?………right?!?

 

There’re this one guy I really want to thank for my success. Think of him as the unsung hero behind my work. Daniel Burke is the guy that inspired and motived me to set up this site. The reason I have a WordPress account, the reason I get paid for doing this is because of him.

We used to work together, and during one of our quieter periods we just started talking about one of my reviews. At this stage I was just writing reviews on Facebook, so my audience were my Facebook friends. Daniel suggested that I should get into journalism and start my own website so I can broadcast my blogs to a larger audience. I was pessimistic about it and shrugged off the suggestion, but he was like, ‘Why? What’s stopping you?’ He had a point. The only thing stopping me was me. I took the plunge, set up a WordPress account in mid-2013, and ended the year with 350 views. The rest is history.

 

So, Dan, and everyone who has taken the time to read, like, comment and share on any of my blogs; thank you. Thank you for believing in me, thank you for the motivation, thank you for giving my life a direction, and thank you for making me see the bigger picture in life. I don’t claim to be the greatest writer of them all. Never have. I do this for the love of doing it, and that’s the key. Do what it is in life that makes you happy. Never once think ‘I wish I did this’, just do it.

 

I plan to continue writing for as long as I can. I have no plans on stopping. I want to continue improving, grow my site and fanbase, and to entertain you guys along the way.

 

I would love to get into YouTube or Podcasting. Who knows what the future may hold. Anything is possible.

 

If you believe you can do it, then you can do it.

 

In closing, thank you guys.

 

Thank you for giving this working-class guy from Sunderland some much-needed direction in his life.

Peace!

Andy “Rif” Sheriff

Sunderland, England

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2016 by in RIF's Life Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
