The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Random Thoughts on WWE SummerSlam 2016

Summerslamlogo

SummerSlam weekend is in the history books and here I am to share my random thoughts on the show. Before I get into it, I want to ask you guys if anyone had any problems with the Network during this show. I originally intended to watch it on my PS4, but it kept on saying ‘network error’. Tried my iPad but the quality was poor and kept on pausing throughout the opening video package/ opening match. Finally settled on my laptop and it was right as rain.

Anyway, back on topic, if you haven’t seen SummerSlam and are avoiding spoilers, look away now:

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

JericKO (Kevin Owens & Chris Jericho) def. Enzo & Cass via pinfall

WWE Women’s Championship: Charlotte def. Sasha Banks © via pinfall to become the NEW WWE Women’s Champion

WWE Intercontinental Championship: The Miz © def. Apollo Crews via pinfall

AJ Styles def. John Cena via pinfall

WWE World Tag Team Championship: The Club (Karl Anderson & Luke Gallows) def. The New Day (Kofi Kingston & Xavier Woods) via disqualification

WWE Heavyweight Championship: Dean Ambrose © def. Dolph Ziggler via pinfall

Nikki Bella, Natalya & Alexa Bliss def. Carmella, Becky Lynch & Naomi via pinfall

 

WWE Universal Championship: Finn Balor def. Seth Rollins via pinfall to become the first ever WWE Universal Champion

WWE United States Championship: Rusev © & Roman Reigns fought to a double disqualification

Brock Lesnar def. Randy Orton via TKO

 

**Random Thoughts**

Although the main event was too one-sided in Brock’s favour it did put him over as a violent man. He dominated the first 10 minutes, Orton hit that RKO and I thought it would be more competitive from that point on. The finish was unique and it got a lot of people talking. Whether blade job or Lesnar did it with the elbows, it’s up for debate. The cut on Randy’s head looked nasty, and they say it’s all fake! The post-match attack on Shane McMahon by Brock interests me a lot. A Shane McMahon v Brock Lesnar match does have the potential to become something special.

 

There was a “Got Juice” sign from a fan as Lesnar made his entrance. Right on camera as well. He doesn’t mean orange juice!

 

How long did it take them to come up with the design for the Universal Championship? The fans hated it, and I agree with them, but what I didn’t agree with was them chanting negative comments towards the belt during Balor v Rollins. When you do that to elite workers like those guys it’s so disrespectful. Focus on the action in the ring, people!

 

As for that match, I liked it a lot. A very good match from two of the best WWE performers in their first match together. No doubt they’ll have more matches over the years to come.  Balor winning doesn’t surprise me because it puts him over huge as well as the new championship. I would have liked it if Rollins acted more heelish in terms of cutting corners or cheating. Like I said before, I’m expecting more rematches between the two further down the line.

 

Very surprised with Charlotte winning. I mentioned in my predictions that Charlotte was the odds-on favourite win amongst several betting sites, it’s just a surprise from a storyline perspective because I was expecting Banks to have a lengthy run with the title. Rumours have been circulating that Banks had failed the Wellness Policy and has been taken off several live events. There has also been rumours that the title has been taken away from her as a punishment for being rude towards fans (one incident where she referred to a fan on Twitter as an ‘airport creeper’ after he thanked her for stopping for a photo in an airport, another incident where she called a 10-year-old girl a ‘little bitch’). At the time of writing (10:06 GMT), nothing has been announced regarding a suspension. I don’t have a problem with Charlotte as Women’s Champion. She’s a talented girl who is killing it as a heel. My mate Dom Howe will be buzzing that his favourite wrestler of all time is a two-time champ! She did with Flair, bro!

 

Is Eva Marie suspended or actually taking a break due to stress? Don’t go playing games with my heart, WWE!

 

Nikki Bella is back and will officially be plying her trade on Smackdown. She was pretty sharp for someone that’s missed six months due to a serious neck injury. She got a strong reaction during her entrance, but I do question why she was teaming with the heels. I doubt she’ll be a heel for long because the crowd likes her and wants to cheer for her.

 

All that Jon Stewart shit was exactly that, shit!

 

New Day retaining the tag titles, fantastic. Awesome seeing Big E because the guy is an absolute riot. Love that guy. Surprised that New Day retained the titles. Don’t have a problem with it because I love the guys, but I still believe the end of the New Day as a group in in sight.

 

I bet the IWC got a raging hard on when Bradshaw (I think) referred to Apollo Crews as Uhaa Nation. I guess it makes up for the Apollo Creed gaff a few weeks back. Crews is not getting over with the crowd and I blame booking for that. The booking prior to the match was poor. There wasn’t much of a crowd reaction for anything that Crews did. I thought that maybe Miz would retain by DQ and keep the feud going, but it was a fairly clean win for him. I would hate it if they just gave up on Crews right now because there’s a lot of untapped potential in that guy.

 

I don’t think I should analyse Reigns/ Rusev too much because it was more of an angle than a match. Reigns is getting cheered against Rusev because of the cheap heat tactics that Rusev uses to get the crowd against him. It’s simple, but it works. Expect this to continue to Night of Champions and beyond.

 

I was disappointed for Ambrose vs. Ziggler. I expected more than what I got. The crowd never seemed to get into as much as they should have. That’s what I’ll remember about this match more than anything, which sucks for the talent because these guys busted their ass. I just didn’t like how Ambrose was acting like a cocky arsehole and his acting was way over the top. I’m talking Jim Carrey over the top! Ambrose is likely to move on to face AJ whiles the future is uncertain for Ziggler.

 

The opening contest was a competitive tag team match between two teams that know how to get a great reaction from the crowd. I hope Jericho has a long term deal because I just love his chemistry with Kevin Owens. It just works. With all due respect to Karl Anderson and Doc Gallows I’d much rather see JeriKO as the tag champs. Actually, I’d like to see WWE Studios create a buddy cop comedy with Jericho and Owens, now that would be wicked!

 

Let’s save the best till last! AJ Styles vs. John Cena was head and shoulders above the rest. You talk about a barn burner and that’s exactly what we got. They only had one televised match two months ago, but they have wrestled at live events, so they’ve clearly built up an amazing chemistry together. So many believable nearfalls for both guys. I thought Cena had it won a couple of times and then I thought Styles could have won multiple times as well. It kept me on the edge of my seat that’s for sure. What a great build up to a big moment at the end. I liked how Cena reacted in a big way when he didn’t win after the middle rope Attitude Adjustment. He was shocked it didn’t win, which cost him because it allowed Styles to get back in the game. I’m glad that Styles won because it makes sense to give him some momentum heading into a possible feud with Dean Ambrose. Cena’s off to film the American Grit TV show soon. He deserves credit for putting over Styles over again and this one was better than their Money in the Bank match. One of the best matches this year.

 

Overall show rating (out of 10): 6

Very mixed show. It had its high points and low points. I could sit here for a long time questioning the booking decisions, the match order and some of the timing of matches. To cut a long story short SummerSlam is that it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. There were highlights (Style/Cena, Balor/Rollins & Brock busting Orton open) so I can’t be too negative on the show. The biggest grip I have is the show was way too long. A two hour pre-show followed with a four hour pay per view is too long. Just stick with a three hour pay per view and a one hour pre-show. That seems to work well.

 

2016 PPV Rankings so far:

Money in the Bank – 8

Battleground – 8

Royal Rumble – 8

Payback – 7

Extreme Rules – 7

WrestleMania 32 – 6.5

SummerSlam – 6

FastLane – 6

 

What did you guys make of SummerSlam? Feel free to share your thoughts in the comment section below and I shall get back with you again in the future with my next blog.

 

See ya later!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 22, 2016 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
