The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Movie Review: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Out the Shadows (2016)

Teenage_Mutant_Ninja_Turtles_Out_of_the_Shadows_poster[1]

Directed by: David Green

Starring: Sheamus, Brian Lee, Megan Fox, Stephen Amell, Will Arnett and Tyler Perry

I was very critical of the 2014 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles reboot. I didn’t like how the Splinter/ Shredder connected was ignored as that was the heart and soul of the popular 1980’s TV series. And don’t get me started on the whole Splinter/ ninja book arc. Ugh, horrible! I must admit, the sequel did intrigue me. The including of Kwang and The Technodrome interests me, but it’s the addition of Bebop and Rocksteady that got me. I’ve decided to give it a chance, although I’m not expecting much.

So what’s it all about? The turtles face a new challenge when Shredder escapes from custody and joins forces with Baxter Stockman, a mad scientist who plans to use a purple serum to take over the world. The turtles have their own allies in April O’Neil, Vernon Fenwick and a hockey-masked vigilante named Casey Jones. As our heroes prepare for battle, the notorious Krang also emerges to pose an even greater threat.

TMNT2 rights the wrongs of the first movie, it’s much better than the 2014 film. I’m just so happy that we finally got Kwang, Bebop and Rocksteady in a live action Turtles movie. It’s only taken them 26 years. The reason why it’s taken that long is because of licences. The original 1990 movie was based on the comics, and had no connection with the television series.

Let’s talk about Bebop and Rocksteady. To me, they stole the show. They have this amazing bromance going on. There’s this one moment, after they were transformed from human form to animal form, and they look down their pants and they’re like ‘oh yeah’! They were true to their original television counterparts. It just work, it went above and beyond what I was expecting. Sheamus is actually a pretty good actor. I’d rather see him do this than something lame shit like the League of Nations or King Sheamus.

My initial reaction when I saw Kwang was ‘holy shit’. Like Bebop and Rocksteady, Kwang was someone I really wanted to see in a live action turtles film. I wish he appeared more. He mainly appears towards the end when he’s fighting the turtles and a brief scene at the beginning when he’s talking to Shredder. Speaking about Shredder, Brian Lee is awesome as Shredder. Shredder is an awesome heel. He’s so evil and sinister. I would have liked to have seen all the villains share a scene together because they always seemed like a dysfunctional family in the TV show, with Shredder and Kwang being casted in the mother and father role. Back to Kwang, I did think that he came across too much like the pantomime villain at time, but, for the most part, he was the same old Kwang we grew up with.

Is it just me but do the Turtles look different? They all seem a lot thinner than they were in the first one. All of them except Rafael, since he’s the muscle of the team. Maybe it was just me. Pipe up in the comments if you felt the same way as well.

Stephen Amell as Casey Jones, I’m mixed. He makes a good Casey, but he isn’t given anything to work with. If you think he wore his mask throught the film, then you’re wrong. You don’t hire Stephen Amell to cover up his face. You do hire Stephen Amell to beat Stardust, but not to cover his face.

The action is good, and the effects are good also. The 80’s nostalgia is at overload here. By no means was this film a classic. It’s a step up from the first one, that’s for sure. If you have nothing better to do on a lazy weekend and you enjoyed the first film, then it’s worth catching.

Before I go, stick around for the credits because they play the classic TV theme tune. Oh my God, I mean, how many film franchise pay tribute to their theme tunes? It was something I wasn’t expecting and it was one hell of a surprise. Right in the childhood, man!

 

Rating: *** (Aye, it’s canny, like)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2016 by in Movie Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
