The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Movie Review: Captain America Civil War (2016)

captain-america-civil-war[1].jpg

Directed by: Anthony & Joe Russo

Starring: Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr, Scarlett Johansson, Sebastian Stan, Anthony Mackie, Chadwick Boseman, Don Cheadle, Paul Bettany, Elizabeth Olsen, Paul Rudd, Tom Holland and Daniel Bruhl.

 

The heavyweights of Marvel Comics return for Captain America: Civil War. Given the nature of the storyline the hype for this film has been sky high. The Civil War story in the comics was ground-breaking! If you haven’t read it I highly suggest that you do. I’ve got to be honest and say that I’m not that big of a fan of Captain America. He’s okay, I guess. I’ve always preferred Iron Man, so I guess you could say that I’m a proud member of Team Iron Man!

I just realised that I’m wearing Superman socks.

Marvel film, DC socks. I don’t give a damn!

The film takes place after the events of Winter Solider and Age of Ultron. A lot has changed and it’s reached a point where governing bodies from all around the world and society are coming to the realisation that the Avengers are more of a threat than heroes. A botch job in Nigeria where multiple casualties are caused makes the Avengers look like a bunch of divvies. So much so that the Avengers are no longer a private organisation and will answer to the governing bodies of whatever country they need to defend.

The new changes divide the members of the team. Steve Rogers (Evans) is against the idea and feels that they should remain free to defend humanity without the interference from the governments. Motivated by the grief caused in Age of Ultron, Tony Stark (Downey) is in full support of the government plans. Obviously this causes a rift between Rogers and Stark, and it isn’t long before the likes of Vision, Black Widow and Hawkeye are forced to pick a side!

When I went to see Captain America: Winter Solider, I was blown away by it. It was simply superb in my opinion. It was an espionage film, a political thriller and a comic book movie. The Russo brothers nailed the tone all three of those points. With Captain America: Civil War they have done that and so much more!

Guys, this is a brilliantly crafted film. Batman v Superman, as much as I liked it, could learn a few things from this film. Just like Winter Solider, this was a political thriller. You’ve got two parties split by one motion, and it totally makes so much sense as well. The big fight at the airport isn’t just a standard bar room brawl, there’s a reason why these two parties are going at it.

The booking was perfect. They’ve cleverly made it so throughout the movie, you’ll be going back and forth between the two sides until eventually, right before the big fight, you’ll decide which side you’re on. I was Team Iron Man at the start, but I went back to Capt. Then back to Iron Man, and so forth. It does leave you divided.

The fight scene was perfect. I didn’t think anyone was booked too strong, nor was anyone buried either. Everyone had their chance to shine. Spider Man was the spot monkey here, whiles Winter Soldier and Giant Man were the two guys dishing out the power moves. I actually had fears that Winter Soldier would go over in this, because of the way he was booked as a monster heel in CA:WS, but that wasn’t the case at all. His interaction with Spider Man was solid and I expect a rematch between the two somewhere down the line.

Personally, I hate the team names of Team Captain America and Team Iron Man. Why not do what the WWE used to do in the late 80s/ early 90s at Survivor Series and given them cool names like The Patriots vs. The Iron Mongers or Stars and Strips vs. The Order. Just me, huh?

I want to talk about Tom Holland’s Spider Man…

No, actually, I want to talk about Marisa Tomei as Aunt May. Bloody hell! I remember having a wank over her in My Cousin Vinnie.  She is so fucking fit for someone in their 50s. She’s in the MILF category with Carol Vorderman and Davina McCall. Powarrrrrr! (I guess you Americans have no idea what I’m talking about)!

Anyway, back to the review….

Now I want to talk about Tom Holland’s Spider Man. Despite not being a huge fan of Spider Man, I do feel that he gets the bum deal when it comes to films (Spider Man 2 was excellent btw), so I can imagine his fans are very protective of him. No spoilers, but all I will say is that he gets the perfect amount of screen time and Tom Holland is a gifted actor. The kid is a natural when portraying Spider Man/ Peter Parker. Tom Holland’s Spider Man is like what Ben Affleck is to Batman. He’s that damn good.  I can say that I’m looking forward to Spider Man Homecoming. The pressure was on, and he delivered.

Big up to Chadwick Boseman as Black Panther. Always nice to see new talent getting a chance to shine (hey, Vince McMahon).

The only negative I can say was the heel. Zemo (Bruhl) just felt as though he was shoehorned into this film. At first I was questioning why he was even there, but by the end you’ll understand his motives. I just felt that had him in for the sake of having him in. Why not make Crossbones the main bad guy? He has more of a presence about him but he doesn’t last too long after the Scarlett Witch went all Sin Cara on his ass! Instead of having Brock Lesnar, it’s the Avengers vs. Heath Slater!

You haven’t lived until you’ve seen The Vision wearing clothes. I was creased at that. People in the cinema must have thought I was crazy or high, or both. Just watch it; you’ll understand where I’m coming from.

Captain America is another feather in the cap of Marvel movies. It’s right up there with the very best.

‘Murica, Fuck yeah!

Rating: **** ½ (Champion)

Leave a Reply

