The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Random Thoughts on NXT Takeover: Dallas

NXT_Takeover_Dallas[1]

Yes, I know. I’m a bit late with this one. I have been busy after all. I was going to post this the other day but with the sudden death of Chyna on Wednesday (and Prince) it had to take a backseat. This event means a lot to me as I was there live for it. As always, I’ll be posting my random thoughts on said event and if you haven’t seen the show (which I’m guessing most of have) please look away now.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

NXT Tag Team Championship: American Alpha (Jason Jordan & Chad Gable) def. The Revival (Scott Dawson & Dash Wilder) © via pinfall to become the new NXT Tag Team champions

Austin Aries def. Baron Corbin via pinfall

Shinsuke Nakamura def. Sami Zayn via pinfall

NXT Women’s Championship: Askua def. Bayley © via submission to become the new NXT Women’s champion

NXT World Championship: Finn Balor © def. Samoa Joe via pinfall to retain the NXT World championship
**Random Thoughts**

The best wrestling show I’ve ever attended in person, and one of the best wrestling shows ever. I’m giving it a 10/10, meaning that this show joins a special elite club of pay per views that I’ve given a 10 rating to including; WrestleMania 17, Canadian Stampede ‘97 and Money in the Bank 2011. That tells you the quality of Takeover: Dallas.

Shinsuke Nakamura vs. Sami Zayn is my pick for match of the year. Outstanding isn’t the word. You’ve got two guys who don’t have a history between each other and they told an incredible story in the ring. A standout match in the history of NXT, WWE and the entire sport of professional wrestling! I almost lost my voice during this match because I lost myself in all the chants that were going one. There was so much hype going into this match and it lived up to it. In fact, it smashed the hype! Mark my words, Shinsuke Nakamura will be on the main roster before the year is out. I expect him to be there come the summer. He oozed charisma from walking the moment he walked down the ramp all the way to every move he executed. He is a massive deal! Having Shinsuke win made sense as it puts him over in a huge way and Zayn was already on the main roster, so this is would be his farewell match in NXT. Will we see a re-match? Of course. They’ll be foolish not to! I urge you all to watch this match. Match of the year, no doubt!

So happy to see American Alpha win the tag titles. The match itself was awesome. Jordan and Gable have built up momentum since the previous summer, so it makes sense that they won the gold at this huge show. Amazing sequence for the finish. Most Gable/Jordan matches have the same formula with Gable getting beat up for most of it, Jordan getting the hot tag and then going to the finish. The reason they do that is because Jordan’s offense after the hot tag is awesome. He’s as good as anybody after the hot tag because his offense is incredible and he is perfect at firing up a crowd. Credit to The Revival because they acted like true heels by cheating all match long, they cheated in ways that nobody else is doing it right now. Tag team wrestling is amazing when it’s done right and that’s what it was here.

Baron Corbin vs. Austin Aries was okay. It told the basic story of the bigger guy overpowering the smaller guy, only for Aries to overcome the odds. Considering Corbin won the battle royal at WrestleMania, I understand why they had him lose in this manner because this loss didn’t make him look weak. Plus, Austin isn’t going to be losing his debut match. I just wish the finish was better.

I loved everything about Bayley vs Asuka, although I was surprised that Asuka won. This match followed Zayn & Nakamura, which is a tough spot, but they made it work! I liked how their styles were able to mesh well with Asuka’s physical submission style going up against the babyface fire of Bayley. It’s worth noting that Bayley didn’t tap out to the Asuka Lock. She passed out. That’s the key right there. Should they have a rematch, and I think they will, you could have Bayley bring that up in a promo. It’s interesting to see where both girls go from here.

Quick personal note, I was sitting right behind Izzy (the obsessed Bayley fan that’s always sitting in the front row at NXT shows). When Bayley lost, she completely broke down. I’ve never seen anyone look so heartbroken. It just shows how much she loves Bayley.

The main event was solid. It was tough to call at times which I liked. I would rate it four stars, could have been higher had it not been for the stoppages from the doctors. The crowd wasn’t happy about that at all! That’s just the way WWE operates nowadays. I don’t think it’s a bad thing for WWE to do that, but I get why the crowd gets mad about it. I thought that Joe would get the call up the main roster since he lost the match. That doesn’t seem to be the case since he recently beat Finn Balor at a house show recently for the title. Both guys deserve a run on the main roster, especially Joe. He can be the best heel in the whole of the WWE if they let him loose.

Overall show rating (out of 10): 10
Phenomenal show. With a runtime of 2 hours and 15 minutes for five matches they were able to give all the matches a significant amount of time. I don’t like comparing these Takeover shows to WWE pay per views, but if you go back over the last two years these shows are usually better than WWE PPVs. That’s because they tend to have fewer matches and they give them more time in the ring.
NXT continues to shine bright in WWE. Takeover: Dallas proves it.

Leave a Reply

