The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

A Cuppa & Question Session

IMG_1629.JPG

I love interacting with you guys. It’s part and parcel with any website or blog. You expect the feedback from readers and I welcome it with open arms.

I do get asked a lot of questions regarding my blogs, everyday life and various other topics. I always reply back to them, no matter how many e-mails I get. You guys take the time out to contact me and it’s only right for me to respond to your comments and e-mails.

I’ve decided to create a new Q&A blog where I respond to your questions and provide you with my answers. I’m only choosing a selected few questions so don’t be too disappointed if your question isn’t included as it may be included in a future edition.

You may be wondering why I’ve titled this ‘A Cuppa & Question Session’, that’s because I’m having a cup of coffee whiles I do this. Simple, huh?
What advice would you give someone interested in writing blogs?
First off, be patient. Some people come in all guns blazing with a head full of ideas ready to take on the world but lose interest when they don’t get the level of views that they were expecting. It takes time. Write about what you’re knowledgeable about, accept criticism and just be yourself. But the biggest piece of advice I can give is to stick at it and enjoy it.

What ever happened to the video game memories series? Have you stopped doing them?
I will be continuing, I can guarantee that, but it’s a case of when, though.

Where you living?
Sunderland, England

Are you PC or Mac?
Laptop

What’s more realistic; Sunderland playing in the Champion’s League or England winning the World Cup?
What a tough question! I’m edging towards England winning the World Cup. Sunderland would be lucky to crack the top 10, let alone the top four! Saying that, Leicester City are certainly upsetting the apple cart.

Where do you see Sunderland in 10 years’ time?
I’m trying to be positive about it but I just can’t. It’s going to get worse before it gets better. I think over the ten years we’ll be one of those teams that fights it out for the playoff spots in the Championship before fading away into mid-table obscurity.

Name your favourite football moment.
That’s got to be when Greece won Euro 2004. I remember watching it down my local with some friends and there were a group of Greeks in the corner who were just overcome with emotion after the final whistle. It was made even sweeter since I actually had Greece on a sweepstake at work so I pocked myself a cool £250! Other moments include; Liverpool winning the 2005 Champion’s League after being 3-0 at half time, England’s performance at Euro ’96, Sunderland’s promotion seasons in 95/96 & 98/99, Manchester City winning the Premier League in added time, South Korea reaching the semi-finals of the 2002 World Cup and Senegal defeating France in the opening match of the same tournament.

Got any plans to do another FIFA series?
I do have plans for a new series. I accidently saved over my Journey Man series so I’ve always been motived to do another series. I can confirm that I will be doing a new save. The series will see me rebuild a team and bring them back to glory. I’m talking about teams like Leeds United, Feyenoord or Mönchengladbach, that haven’t won anything for so long despite being one of the top teams back in the day.

What are your favourite cities you’ve been to?
I absolutely love Liverpool. It’s much more than the home of the Beatles. There’s so much history and culture there which makes it such a special place. I love the Scouse humour, it’s hilarious. Other cities that I love are Sheffield, York and London. I’ll always have a special place in my heart for both Newcastle and Sunderland.

Two questions: Have you decided what you’re going to celebrate your 30th birthday and what have you learnt from life?
I have a few ideas in my head regarding my 30th, but nothing set in stone. It’s likely that I’ll be traveling somewhere, but again, that’s just one idea floating around in my head. I promise to make a blog about it once I’ve made a decision.
I’ve learnt a ton of things about life thus far. I’d be doing a blog on the day of my 30th (November 20th) so tune in to that. What I will say is that what goes around does come around. Life isn’t always fair. Live every day like it might be your last because, good or bad, you never know what’s waiting around the corner.

What got you into writing blogs?
I used to do the odd blog here and there but nothing on a consistent basis. Things changed around 2012/2013 when a friend posted a movie review on Facebook and that threw me off guard because he never came across as the type of guy to do anything like that. I decided to have a shot at it myself as a bit of a piss take (in case you’re wondering, the film was American Hustle), but then, I started getting all these likes and comments and I was, like, this is good. So I decided to do it again (this time with Wolf of Wall Street) and the likes and comments continued to pour in. Doing those reviews on Facebook was only limiting myself to a small audience. I wanted to broad out, so I decided to set up a wordpress account and I haven’t looked back since. Why do I continue doing blogs? It’s all because of you guys. I love you all!

As a comic book fan, which comic book movie of this year are you looking forward to most?
Suicide Squad, no doubt about it! What I’m interested in most is how well characters like Harley Quinn, Deadshot and Killer Croc are portrayed. The main focus is going to be on Jared Leto as the Joker. Let’s face it, Heath Ledger’s performance in The Dark Knight set the bar so high that Leto really needs to nail it out of the park. Also looking forward to Deadpool, too. The promotion for that film has been hilarious thus far. Let’s just hope the film itself lives up to expectations. I’ll be doing reviews of them, for sure.

Who was the first superhero you’ve ever heard of?
Superman. I remember watching the original Christopher Reeve film as a child and it blew my mind wide open.

Name your top five comic book films of all time.
(In order) Batman Begins, Superman (1979), Guardians of the Galaxy, V for Vendetta and The Man of Steel.

Why don’t you review any romantic movies?
Have you read my review on Fifty Shades of Grey? Bloody hell that was torture. Come to think of it, I don’t think I have reviewed any romantic films aside from Fifty Shades. I guess Ex-Machina has some romantic elements to it, even though it’s mainly a Sci-Fi film. I might do some in time for Valentine’s Day. Not sure. Stay tuned.

Would you ever consider doing a YouTube channel?
That would be amazing. It seems to be the in-thing nowadays and how many people have made careers from doing YouTube? As much as I would like to give it a shot, I haven’t a clue what sort of programmes you would need to get it up and running. It’s much more than just a microphone and a webcam. Also, I just don’t think I have the charisma to really carry it. If I were to do it I would need a co-host to help me along. My motto in life is ‘never say never’. Keep your eyes peeled.

Name five comic book villains you’d like to see appear in a movie that haven’t before, and name five villains that you would re-boot from previous films.
Deathstroke, The Vulture, Hugo Strange, Mysterio and The Man-Bat. If I had the chance to re-boot characters they would be Rhino, The Juggernaut, The Penguin, Mr Freeze and Dr.Doom.

Who else will be joining Sting in this year’s WWE Hall of Fame?
The Fabulous Freebirds, Stan Hanson and JBL have been heavily rumoured due to their connection with the state of Texas. As for others, I’m going to say Rick Rude, Miss Elizabeth, Vader and X-Pac, maybe. The celebrity inductee is a real shot in the dark, so I’m going to say either Lawrence Taylor or Andy Kaufmann.

What’s the first graphic novel you’ve ever read?
Batman: Year One. There’s a story behind that. As you know, my favourite comic book movie of all time is Batman Begins. I later discovered that the film was based on Year One, so I decided to check it out. It was also at that time where I also picked up The Dark Knight Returns, the greatest graphic novel of all time!

Have you ever been to Comic Con?
I haven’t but I’d love to go to the San Diego Comic Con as that’s the one that usually the one with the most prestige.

How would you improve WWE?
How long you got? I’d be here all day answering this question. I do plan on writing a blog about it on the future where I’ll go into it with more depth. I will say one of the first things I’ll do is to hire more guys with wrestling experience to work on creative. They do it on NXT so why not on the main roster?

What are your expectations for the upcoming Batman v Superman film?
I’m looking forward to it, I really am. I don’t like how they’ve pretty much revealed the 3rd act of the film in the most recent trailer, but that’s not going to stop me from watching it. I’m also confident that Ben Afleck can be a good Batman and I’m interested to finally seeing Wonder Woman on the big screen. I’m still amazed that it’s taken almost 70 years for her to get the silver screen treatment.

I take the pleasure to get associated with you and desire to introduce myself, requesting for your expert advises and immediate line of action.
I am Omar, son of the murdered Sultan, Sultan of the Sultanate of Oman.
I came to know your expertise and professionalism in business from my father, and am thus confidently writing that you will accept my request to provide your expertise professionalism in business.
I ask you to keep this confidential. I am to trust you with my life, as my father did.
My father was last night murdered by his political enemies. Now those same enemies are attempting to take control of his finances. I have been able to secretly take $40 million and intend to flee the country.
I will like you to use your expertise and professionalism in business to help me escape my money and invest for me.
On your confirming accepting my request in totality you will receive 25% of the money ($10 million)
Please keep this totally confidential.
Please I hope you will help me. Please act soon, we must prepare. It is god’s will.
Omar
Huh?
I really don’t know how to respond to this.
I’ve just received an e-mail from the son of a Sultan. I don’t know any Sultans. And what’s all this about my professionalism in business? What professionalism in business? I don’t think he realises that I write a dick and fart joke blog so he must have crossed his wires somewhere down the line. Unless he knows about my GNVQ in business studies then he has a point. Another thing, how do you secretly take $40 million? If $40 million goes missing you would know about it.
But $10 million, though. You can’t turn that down. Of course I’ll help you, lad!

That’s it for this pilot edition of C&Q, if you liked what you’ve read and want to leave a question for my next C&Q blog then please feel free to leave a comment in the comment section below. Please like, share or comment as it really does help the site out, and I hope to see you again in my next blog.

Thanks for reading.

See ya later!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 26, 2016 by in A Cuppa & Question Session, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .
