The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Rif’s Random Reviews: Draw The Marvel Way Magazine Issue One

20160108_095213.jpg

During my weekly big shop at my local Tesco, I came across this magazine at the front of the store. It grabbed my attention since I’m a comic book fan, so I decided to have a look at the card-back. The way it works is that every fortnight you learn how to draw one of Marvel’s most iconic characters (in this case, Spider-Man) and you also get some drawing materials. In this debut issue I received a metal ruler, 2H pencil, a fineliner pen and a putty eraser.

But I came to Tesco to do my grocery shopping dammit!

As I put the magazine down, and turned my attentions to getting to aisle 20 for some every day value wholemeal bread, something else caught my eye……the price!

99p? As a wise man once said, “That’s going straight in my basket!” I then ended up going to random strangers and telling them about my intentions of where I’ll be putting my magazine. Also did it to some employees, too.

Shit, I’ve just remembered that I’ve forgot to pick up my bread. Looks like I’ll be having ham instead of a ham sandwich for my tea.

Growing up, I was always drawing. I used to draw almost everyone and everything. Every day I would be drawing something. I was passionate about it, just like what I am today with my blogs. My mam used to take me to art classes on a Saturday morning at the Sunderland Library and I loved it, it was those classes which really unleashed my love affair for the arts. I still have a portfolio somewhere with a collection of my finest work. If I can find it I promise I’ll upload some images of them on here.

I developed a reputation at Primary School as ‘the artist’. Not a day went by when people would ask me to draw this or to draw that. Every year, in Primary School, we would celebrate World Book Day and one of the things we used to do was draw our favourite book character as part of this competition with the grand prize being a free book token. I’m not lying when I say this but out of the six years I spent at St. Hildas School, I won that competition five times. I may have been the runner up that one year but, as the song goes; ‘first the worst, second the best!”

I got an A+ in my GCSE and I bossed it at my A-Levels, too. In 2005, I was made redundant from my job at Littlewoods call centre (I say I was redundant, I was actually sacked), so I looked to do some volunteer work in order to fill up some time. As luck would have it I ended up back at the Saturday morning art class that I attended as a young ‘un, but this time, I would be an assistant. I was well made up. It felt as though everything came full circle.

As you can gather, without blowing my own trumpet or anything, I’m a pretty talented artist, right? Well, I’ve got to admit and say that I haven’t drawn anything for a long time.

Drawing is like riding a bike. The skill and talent never leaves you. How did my Spider-Man drawing turn out?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

IMG_1619.JPG
Fuckin’ nailed it!

2 comments on “Rif’s Random Reviews: Draw The Marvel Way Magazine Issue One

  1. Toni
    January 8, 2016

    Awh mate this made me chuckle 😂😂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2016 by in RIF's Random Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
