The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

2015: My Review of the Year

IMG_1616

The time has come for me to reflect back on the past twelve months as we draw the curtain down on 2015 and welcome in 2016.

Before I get into my review, I just want to take this opportunity to dedicate this review to those who lost their lives during the horrible terrorist attacks in Paris this past November. What a scary world we live in. The unity the World showed on that day demonstrated our determination to stand up and show no fear to those who gain sick pleasure in causing fear in others. Those who are truly brave shall never live in fear.

This has been a good year for me. Not a great year, but a good one. Let’s just say it won’t crack my top ten, maybe my top fifth teen. If you know me personally, you’ll be able to remember how low I was during 2012 and 2013. 2014 was mixed, but better than those two years.

If I had to choose a highlight it’s got to be my editor job at Whatculture. I write about almost anything, as you can tell from looking at the amount of blogs on my site. It’s become a life’s passion of mine and something I wish I done earlier. I really appreciate the support, guys. It’s humbling whenever I get a comment or a like for something that I worked so hard on. I’m not the greatest writer, never said I was and I don’t claim to be so either. I’m far from perfect, but I’d like to think you can see the improvement from my early days to now. I do this because I love it, and I want to make something of myself because of it.

On the subject of writing, I have an announcement to make. As you are reading this, I’m getting paid for it. You may notice some adverts popping up on here from time to time. It’s those advertisements that pay me. I’ve been doing this for some time but felt that now was the best time to bring it up. My goal for 2016 is to write more blogs than I ever have done before. I’m not motivated by money. I’ve still got the same energy and drive to write blogs even when I was doing it for free. That’s when you realise how much you love something when you’re prepared to do it for free.

My site is growing. As I write this (6.04 on New Year’s Eve), the site has currently racked up 4,964 views. I can’t thank you all enough. The year isn’t over just yet. Let’s try and break the 5,000 mark!

It’s traditional for people to use the “New Year-New Me” phrase at this time of year. Why wait until the New Year to make a new you? Do it now! Do it today! It’s a New Day, yes it is!

Take my advice kids, do what you love in life. Fuck what anyone else may think. Do you really want to spend your life working in a dead end job working for some prick? I know I don’t. If it makes you happy that’s all that matters. Life isn’t a video game; you only get one life, so make the most of it.

I did some traveling in April to London. I’ve been going to London for six years on the trot and I simply love it. London is an amazing city. Every time I go I always find something new about the place and that is why I’m excited for my next visit in April. New York is often dubbed as ‘the city that never sleeps’, I disagree. London is that city! It’s old but it’s new, all at the same time. I guess that I love it so much, plus Soho is a nice place to visit 😉

2016 is going to be a huge year for me. I’m turning 30 years old. Damn, that sends a shiver down my spine whenever I think about it. At this moment, I don’t know how I’ll be celebrating it. It’s got to be something unique since it’s a huge landmark in life. I have a few ideas, but nothing is set in stone just yet. I’ll likely to do a blog about the experience because that’s what I do.

2016 will also see me live out a childhood dream of mine as I’ll be attending WrestleMania in Dallas, Texas. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do, but since I’ll be turning 30, what better time to do it than next year?

2015 saw a new addition to our family. In April, we welcomed our dog Bella into our lives. More than enough time has passed since we lost our Sasha in 2006, so it was the right time to get another dog. Bella is so sweet and loving. All she wants to do is play and roll around. I could have a lousy day at work (which is every day working for those dicks) and all of the stress vanishes when I walk into the front room and Bella is there to greet you. Dogs, or any other pet in general, can really brighten up your life.

The seeds have been planted to make 2016 a good year.

Scrap that.

The seeds have been planted to make 2016 the best year of my entire life, a title currently occupied by 2011. I’ve got a few things to look forward to like WrestleMania, London and my 30th, plus I’ve set myself a few targets along the way. It makes this game we call life more interesting.

Enjoy your New Year celebrations. Thank you for making this a good year for me.

All the best for 2016

RIF
x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 31, 2015 by in RIF's Life Stories, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
