The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Twelve Christmas Movie Reviews in Twelve Days 2015: #4. A Christmas Carol (2009)

ChistmasCarol2009-Poster[1].jpg

Directed by: Robert Zemeckis
Starring: Jim Carrey, Gary Oldman, Bob Hoskins, Colin Firth and Robin Wright Penn.

I asked my Facebook friends what Christmas films they wanted me to review. One of them was ‘A Christmas Carol’, the reason behind it was because it reminded my friend of their father. That touched me. I always believe that Christmas is a time to share with your loved ones, but for some, their loved ones may not be with them anymore. I hate to imagine the hurt people go through when they lose someone so dear. I feel lucky that my family is still around to celebrate this time of year, but we’re all getting older and it’s important to really make the most of times like this because you’ll never know when they’ll be gone for good.

So that’s my reasoning for reviewing ‘A Christmas Carol’. Problem was which version do I choose from? There are so many different adaptations of the story, so I’ve decided that I’ll review a version which I haven’t seen before. Plus, look at the cast – Jim Carrey, Gary Oldman and Bob Hoskins! Something tells me that I’m going to enjoy this!

I’m sure we all know the story here; Ebenezer Scrooge, a bitter and miserly old moneylender, holds everything that Christmas stands for in contempt. He’s credited for his iconic catchphrase, “Bah! Humbug!” But after being visited by three spirits on Christmas Eve, Scrooge changes his wicked ways and turns babyface.

I enjoyed this, I really did. Wasn’t expecting much, but I’m pleased with what I got. The motion capture scenes are terrific; you can really see Jim Carrey’s facial features in Scrooge. Would it have been better had it been live action? I’d say it be more or less the same, but it be cool to see Carrey’s zany actions! Credit to Gary Oldman. As Marley, he’s fantastic. But as Cratchit, a Oldman-faced hobbit is something to be seen, even if it does remind me of that fucking God-awful film, Tiptoes! For every Tiptoes, there’s a Leon (Greatest film of all time, check it out!)

This film does have a reputation of being too scary, even for a Disney film. That can be true in some respects, some of the content is too gruesome for young kids, that I can admit to. Parents must be aware that this is a PG rated film so the chances of scene which will give a six year old the willies are above average. Then again, the cutesy versions of Christmas Carol (Muppets Christmas Carol and Mickey’s Christmas Carol) have little in common with the classic, but sometimes they can have moments which make you jump.

I’ve seen many different versions of this story, this has got to be the most darkest and disturbing of them all, but it’s a one in which I enjoyed and recommend, especially in HD!

Rating: *** ½ (Aye, it’s canny)

Leave a Reply

