The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Sunderland vs. Newcastle United Match Review

safc
Barclays Premier League
Venue: The Stadium of Light, Sunderland
Attendance: 47, 653
Goals: Johnson (pen) 45’, Jones 65’, Fletcher 86’
Red card: Coloccini 45’

The Tyne Wear derby is always a much anticipated fixture for fans of Sunderland and Newcastle. That hasn’t been the case for the Toon Army. They’ve lost the last five derby games and now it is six in a row for Sunderland. The first time in the club’s history that has ever happened.

Not only have we won the derby, but this is the first time this season that we’ve actually won a league fixture. I’m happy that we won, but I’d be the first to admit that the red card for Coloccini really turn it in our favour. Newcastle dominated the first half. They came out fighting and we got lucky with the spot kick. Was it a penalty? I’m afraid it was Toon fans. As club captain, Coloccini should have known better then to come in recklessly on Fletcher like that. Just glad that the decision went in our favour, unlike previous decisions so far this season.

I can’t help but feel that if the penalty decision didn’t go our way or if Johnson missed, I don’t think we would have won. The stats don’t lie. Newcastle dominated in possession (61% to our 39%), shots (21 to our 9), shots on target (8 to our 3) and corners (10 to our 1). We did beat them in one stat, fouls. 12 fouls to Newcastle’s 10. That must be frustrating for the Newcastle fans. I can relate to that, I’ve had games on FIFA and Football Manager where I controlled the game but lost the game. It’s a kick in the teeth, I know.

As you can tell from this review I’m sympathetic towards Newcastle. I’ve never really been the one to kick them while their down or go around chanting ‘fuck the mags’. I support Sunderland, but I do have a soft spot for Newcastle. Not just Newcastle United Football Club, but Newcastle as a city. It’s a city that I love. I’ve never had any problems with the Geordies, they’re a passionate bunch and I just love that about them. I do wish them well for the rest of the season and I hope they’ll stay up.

Now that we’ve got our first win of the season, let’s build on it and look to get something in our next game against Everton.

Current league position (out of 20): 18th
Rif’s man of the match: Steven Fletcher (Sunderland): Won us the penalty in the first half and scored the 3rd goal in the second half.
Next game: Everton @ Goodison Park, Liverpool.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 25, 2015 by in Sunderland AFC News & Reviews and tagged , , , , , .
