The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

A Big Thank You

thank you

So today I logged into wordpress to check some stuff out, curiosity got the best of me as I checked out how many views my site, The Rif Files, had currently.

I popped on over to the website stats page and I was completely blown over.

3,841 views

A new record for my site beating last year’s total of 3,837.

This is just a brief blog just to thank you guys very much for helping me achieve what I set out to do at the beginning of this year and that was to beat last year’s target. It’s humbling when people take the time to read something that I worked on for so long. You don’t have to read the things that I write about, but you do and that’s a massive complement for me.

I started writing in 2011ish. My earliest blogs can be found on my Facebook account (feel free to add me, Andy Rif Sheriff. Just let me know that you found me via wordpress beforehand), I wrote the odd blog from time to time, literally from time to time. I began writing on wordpress in mid-2013 where I gained 350 views come the end of the year. The bar had been set for the following year.

I feel that 2014 was the year where everything changed for me as a writer, and I owe it all to my mate Dave.

Dave is the guy who inspired me to start doing movie reviews. He writes his movie reviews on Facebook, nothing too in-depth but enough to really tell you about his thoughts on that particular film. My first proper movie review was American Hustle. I’ve got to admit and say that I did it as a piss-take, but once I posted the review people were liking and commenting on it. I was all like ‘hey this is great this’, so I decided to do it again just so I knew it wasn’t a fluke, this time it was with The Wolf of Wall Street. That just blew everything up and from then on I was known as the guy who reviews movies. Since my reviews were getting popular, I made the decision at the beginning of this year to post my movie reviews exclusively on my wordpress site beginning with Birdman. A special thank you to the 601 people who read my review for Fifty Shades of Grey, you guys are the best, even if it meant that I had to sit through that shite! Hated the film, but it was one of my favourite movie reviews to date.

I starting to add more new content to the site as the year progressed. From Rif’s Random Reviews, Video Game Memoires and Rif’s Life Stories, all of that has helped in the progression this site has made.

I don’t get paid for doing this. I hope I can someday, I hope it can get to the point where I can make enough money to live off this just so I can quit my current job and actually do something that I love rather than being treated like someone’s slave. I don’t claim to be the greatest writer of them all. It takes time to perfect your craft. Hard work pays off in the end. I can assure you of that.

As things stand, I have a total of 8,028 views, 4,266 visitors and 191 posts made on my site. Simply amazing guys.

3,841 views. Man, I can’t get over it. At one point that total just seemed to be so far away, and now that I’ve surpassed it, wow! It’s only late September with three months of the year still remaining, that total will obviously get bigger. I can honestly see that reaching the 4,000 mark, or maybe the 5,000 if I’m lucky!

My plan going forward is to continue doing what I do and to improve at every opportunity which comes my way.

I’ve no idea how long this writing gig will last for, but I’m going to make the most of it and entertain you guys in the process.

To borrow a phrase from Bret Hart, you guys are the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be.

Thank you all so very much.

I love you all.

Andy ‘RIF’ Sheriff
Sunderland, England
26th September 2015

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2015 by in RIF's Life Stories and tagged , , , , , .
