The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Movie Review: Paper Towns (2015)

Paper Towns

Directed by: Jake Schreier
Starring: Cara Delevingne, Nat Wolff, Halston Sage, Austin Abrams and Justice Smith

It’s obvious that I love films. What you may also know, or not know, is that I’m an avid reader. I wrote a blog a few months back about some of my favourite books and I’m planning a follow up sometime soon. I’ve never read Paper Towns, but I plan on doing so, and that’s perhaps a reason why I decided to give this film a viewing. If I read the book beforehand I would be spending my time comparing it to the book.

Quentin (Wolf) is a shy teenager who is completely focused on his studies. His life is turned upside down when Margo (Cara), a popular girl who Quentin has had a crush on since childhood, recruits him to help her get revenge on her ex-boyfriend who had betrayed her. All seems well with Q who feels that he finally has a chance with Margo, but all thoughts of romance go flying out the window after Margo disappears. There’s this sense of mystery surrounding Margo, she challenges her inner Riddler by leaving behind crypic clues for Quentin to solve. Quentin needs to find Margo, him and his highschool buddies embark on a journey across America to find the girl who made him feel truly alive.

This is a gem of a film. It touches on many themes which teenagers go through in a light-hearted way. There were times where the movie felt a little too cliché at times but it came to an end where it wasn’t leaking with plot holes and it was a satisfying conclusion. Major credit for this film’s success goes to its talented crop of actors. I’m aware of Cara’s background as a model so I’m seeing her in an acting position for the first time and she did well. Her charisma is key. She’s also in the upcoming ‘Suicide Squad’ film too, that’s going to be a massive role for her.

I also liked Austin Abrams who played the role of Ben. He provided the comic relief and changed the mood when the serious tones were turned up. His versatility will help him earn more roles later down the line.
There are many layers to this film. It isn’t as deep or moving as people may think it is, but it’s a well-acted film which is worthy enough to rub shoulders with the heavyweights of the coming of age genre.

Would I recommend it? Yes, absolutely. Has it influenced my decision to read the book? You bet it does.

Rating: **** ½ (Champion)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2015 by in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , .
