The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Movie Review: Jurassic World (2015)

jurassic-world-poster[1]

Directed by: Colin Trevorrow

Starring: Chris Pratt, Bryce Dallas Howard, Ty Simpson, Nick Robinson & Vincent D’onofrio

Back in 1993, Jurassic Park broke new ground. It’s often considered to be one of the greatest films ever made and who am I to disagree? I still remember our family going to see it when it was first released and I didn’t want to go because it was a ‘scary film’ (C’mon, I was only six at the time), and the funny thing is, I absolutely loved it. It wasn’t scary at all! I was just in awe of it all. I was on the edge of my seat, staring at the big screen all wide eyed and opened mouth whenever a Dinosaur appeared on screen. Christmas of that year saw me receive all the action figures, the Jeep, the Jurassic Park compound play-set, and the cherry on top of the cake…..the T-Rex! One of the best toys I’ve ever had as a child!

The Lost World and JP3 couldn’t match what the original had, and as a result, they both got lost in the shuffle. They were victims of their own success. I feared that this would also suffer the same fate and live in the shadow of Jurassic Park.  I watched this with an open mind and tried to forget that the others were non-existent.

Set 22 years after the events of Jurassic Park, Isla Nublar is now home to Jurassic World, a fully functioning dinosaur theme park, as originally envisioned by the Park’s creator John Hammond (Sir Richard Attenborough). It’s got everything you ever wanted; dinosaurs, rides, hotels with breath-taking views (take note Travelodge) and a Starbucks. Seeing this park in all its glory just makes you want to pack your bags and book the first flight available. It really does! In its glory years, Jurassic World was doing big business, but those days are long gone. The novelty factor was worn off and attendance figures are declining. The glory years are behind them. I guess you could say they are just like the dinos….extinct! Yeah, I’ll see myself out. So what do the park owners do? They start creating their own dinosaurs in an attempt to spark more interest in the stale resort. Their newest creation is dubbed “Indominus Rex”, a cocktail of DNA from Cuttlefish, Carnotaurus , Tree Frog, Tyrannosaurus and much more. A former military man and animal expert, Owen (Chris Pratt), is assigned the task of assessing the Indominus’ vulnerabilities before its big public unveiling. However, something goes wrong. The Indominus Rex has escaped and set off a chain reaction that causes the other dinos to run wild in the park. Owen needs to stop the situation from spiralling out of control otherwise Jurassic World will end up getting a negative review on TripAdvisor!

My reviews are my total honest opinion, your opinions may be different to mine and I respect that, but this is my total honest assessment of Jurassic World. Jurassic World is head and shoulders above Jurassic Park in every way possible. Now THIS is how you do a sequel to Jurassic Park. It’s everything that made JP great and a whole lot more. It pays homage to the original in many ways including that DNA cartoon which we saw in the early scenes of JP, a John Hammond statue, a cameo appearance from the Dilophosaurus and a re-visit of the old park. They didn’t feel forced and that’s a credit to everyone involved in the making of this film that they were able to balance out the mixture of references, nostalgia and refreshing new ideas to make this whole thing work.  It even has the John William’s classic theme too! That combined with the first big wide shot of the park is worth the price of the ticket alone. It put a smile on my face for sure!

Chris Pratt illustrated that he’s a rising star and a gifted actor. He carried this film with so much charm, wit and humour you’d forget that he was Star-Lord in GOTG. The Dinosaurs looked as good as they did in the original, if not, better. You’ll lose yourself in the moment. I’m 28 years old (yeah, I’m old as shit), but there were moments where I transported back to my six year old self because I was completely taken away by it all. The final fight scene, a scene which I saw coming from the beginning, is shades of the fight scene from last year’s Godzilla movie. Some people were disappointed that there wasn’t any campy humour that the other films had, but that didn’t bother me. I enjoyed it for all it’s worth. The CGI is better as is the story. I loved the original; in fact, I consider Jurassic Park to be one of the top ten most important films in the history of the industry. Leave your nostalgia tinted glasses at home when you go and see it. You’d love it even more if you don’t compare it with the original.

Move over Chappie, we’ve got a new leader for film of the year.

Rating: ***** (Top of the pops)

3 comments on “Movie Review: Jurassic World (2015)

  1. garethrhodes
    June 13, 2015

    Great review! Can’t wait to get this one down my eye-holes.

    • The Rif Files Inc
      June 13, 2015

      It’s a must see. Everything that was good about Jurassic Park and then some!

      • garethrhodes
        June 13, 2015

        Sounds great. Despite some of its flaws, Jurassic Park remains one of the signature blockbusters of the 1990’s.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2015 by in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
