The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

Movie Review: Chappie (2015)

chappie-poster-teaser[1]

Directed by: Neil Blomkamp

Starring: Dev Patel, Hugh Jackman, Sigourney Weaver & Sharlto Copley

I remember originally seeing the trailer and being blown away by it. Trailers are sometimes a red Herron. What you see isn’t necessary what you get. So I didn’t want to get my hopes build up too much for this. Technology interests me. Will there ever be a time where we’ll see a robot that has the ability to feel and think for itself? Progress is being made so I don’t see why not. You never know what’s around the corner.

Set in the near future, mechanised police forces are now patrolling the streets of Johannesburg, South Africa. Crime is down and corruption seems to be a thing of the past. The RoboCops (what else can I call them?) have struck the fear of God into the lawbreakers. The robot’s designer, Deon Wilson (Dev Patel) has created a new Artificial Intelligence software that mimics human intelligence to the point of being able to feel emotions and have opinions. He takes a recently damaged robot back to his home so he’s able to install the software but he is kidnapped by a group of gangsters who want to force him to reprogram one of his robots to assist them in a heist. The Robot is named Chappie (voiced by Sharlto Copley), conned after the phrase “Happy Chappie”. Just like a child, Chappie has to learn and the group of gangsters use this to their advantage teaching Chappie martial arts, how to use a gun etc. Authorities begin to see him as a danger; they will stop at nothing to ensure that Chappie is the only one of his kind.

Film of the year! I’ve giving this a five star rating! No doubt about it. I’ve been reading a few reviews of this and I’m actually surprised about the negative reactions this has provoked. I loved everything about it. The story may not be original, I see the silliness of Short Circuit combined with the grittiness of Robocop, but that doesn’t matter. It was entertaining and that’s all that matters. I love Chappie himself. I just love his child-like outlook on life; there was a scene where he strokes a dog for the first time which I found so damn touching. He’s just so damn lovable. Hugh Jackman was great in the villain role, I can’t say too much as it would give away too much of the plot, but I will say that his role was key. Recently Hugh said that watching Birdman (another film which I’ve reviewed) told him not to give up doing Wolverine, sorry Hugh but you’re wrong, Chappie proves that!

Chappie is one of the most pure, genuine, and heartfelt films to come along this year. In a few years’ time, when the age old question is asked regarding the greatest film of all time, Chappie should be in serious contention.

I URGE you, no, I STRONGLY URGE you all to go and see this beautiful film.

The pressure is on you Avengers!

Rating: ***** (Top of the pops)

Leave a Reply

