The Rif Files

Sports – Films – Reviews – Life Stories – Video Games It's all here on The Rif Files.

WrestleMania: The Legacy

Vince McMahon had a vision. He thought if the NFL had the Super Bowl and the movie, television and music industries had the Oscars, Emmys and Grammys, why couldn’t wrestling also have its own extravaganza where rivalries culminated and the industry was celebrated? That was the birth of WrestleMania. People though it was crazy. The idea of bringing wrestling and celebrities together was unheard of back in 1985. Many thought it was a recipe for disaster. Vince has gone on record to say that if WrestleMania 1 failed then the WWE wouldn’t be around today. Thankfully it was a huge success. And here we are in 2014 celebrating WrestleMania XXX. That’s a huge achievement and one they can be proud of. Sure, WCW hosted 35 editions of Clash of the Champions but that wasn’t a once a year thing and that’s what makes 30 WrestleManias so impressive.

 

Over the past few months, I’ve been posting reviews of all 30 WrestleManias. It’s something that I considered doing last year in time for WM29 but with the 30th edition happening this year then it seemed more appropriate. It has been a labour of love and something that I’m immensely proud of.

 

I’ve learnt a great deal over those four months. I learnt that WrestleMania means so much to so many people. I love hearing about people’s memories on the event and their favourite matches. I know people who have actually attended the event and have comment about what a grand spectacular it is. To me, WrestleMania is all about the memories. Something special always seems to happen at WrestleMania. There’s a reason why people are still talking about Hulk Hogan bodyslamming Andre The Giant or Stone Cold trying to fight out of the Sharpshooter years after they happened. 10 years from now, people will still be talking about the night the legendary Undertaker’s streak came to an end! The other thing that I’ve realised is that my respect for professional wrestling is through the roof. It’s not easy. Whenever you hear the commentators say that they’re putting their bodies on the line, that’s no joke guys. It’s legit. It’s reasons like this why I’m still a fan at the age of 27 and have been a fan for 24 years. No matter how easy they make it look I just want to say thank you to every performer that I’ve had the pleasure of watching.

 

I hope my WrestleMania reviews have helped rekindle some old memories and help remind you why you’re a fan. Talk about it with your friends, relive those memories. I’ll never forget watching Undertaker vs. Shawn Michaels from WM25 for the first or Rock/Austin WM17 or even Owen Hart defeating Bret at WM10. Three matches, 10 years apart and each one represented a stage in my life. One was when I was a child; another represented my teenage years and finally adulthood. If it’s a great match then it shouldn’t matter what kind of fan you are. If you are a true fan you’ll appreciate it for what pro wrestling is: an art form at its absolute best!

 

WrestleMania 30 is a hell of an achievement. It’s right up there with their 1000’s episodes of Raw and the excellent WWE Network. They have every right to be proud of it.

 

Congratulations WWE. Here’s to WrestleMania 40!

 

 

Leave a Reply

